Northants Golf

Review of the Year: 2020 County Tournaments

Northampton’s Mark Bazeley won the 2020 NGL Men’s Champion of Champions event as a birdie on Overstone Park’s 18th hole, plus four other birdies, earned a single shot victory with a one-under-par gross 71.

Reigning County Strokeplay Champion Jensen Parfitt (Collingtree Park), who led by two going down the last, had to settle for the runners-up position on 72, with Luis Witherall (Cherwell Edge) a further stroke back in third.

In the Ladies Champion of Champions tournament, Ellie Darnell (Wellingborough) kept her composure over the closing few holes to win the title with a gross 76. Northampton’s Alison Irvine (80) finished second by one from home club member Baylie Pyke.


The NGL Izzard Trophy witnessed an individual and team double for Whittlebury Park as they coped best in the wet conditions at Delapre Park.

With Gavin Hansell posting the leading mark of 39 points, the Whittlebury member combined with club-mates Gavin Van Heerden (36) and Chris Hodgkins (35) to win the team prize by seven points.

Rushden’s Kane Attley, Wayne Bright and Paul Darnell finished runners-up by three from Overstone Park’s Dave Makepeace, Dave Aveyard and Josh Ho.

In the NGL Pairs Open, Glenn Harris and Ricky Sanders (Wellingborough) grabbed the crown for the second time in three years with a countback success at Brampton Heath.

A superb back nine of 23 points in an overall tally of 40 secured top spot ahead of reigning champions Ted Dunn (Peterborough Milton) and Dennis Mathers (Northampton) and Kingsthorpe’s Tim Johnson and Steve Townsend.

Countback was also required in the Mixed Fourball Betterball Trophy as Peter Morris and Geraldine Morris (Northampton) held off the challenge of two pairings with 39 points at Priors Hall.

The husband and wife duo’s run of 15 points over the closing six holes proved decisive as they edged out Overstone’s Mark Roberts and Mandy Roberts, with Harlestone club-mate Greg Thomas and Ida Higgins (Wellingborough) in third.

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.